Barnet Choral Society

Minutes of 82nd Annual General Meeting of Barnet Choral Society held at QE Boys' School 8 March 2023

1. Apologies for absence:

M Arkwright, P Coleman, J Evans, K Eyres, C Fletcher, M Francis, H Javes, J Lowe, M Mathews, H Melling, K Ridout, M Schuck, H Sharp, M Swaris, J Trowell.

2. Minutes of 81st Annual General Meeting held 19 January 2022:

Accuracy: The minutes were agreed.

Matters arising: None.

3. Reports

3.1 Chair

Copies of the report had been distributed previously and are available in the minute book. The report was unanimously accepted.

3.2 Musical Director's Report

The Musical Director gave a verbal Report.

3.3 Adoption of the Annual Accounts

Copies of the accounts had been distributed previously, and are available in the minute book. The report was unanimously adopted.

3.4 Adoption of Annual Report of the Society

Copies of the Report had been distributed previously and are available in the minute book. The report was unanimously adopted.

4. Motions for discussion

4.1 Change of Constitution to allow remote attendance at meetings.

Motion to make an addition to section 9 of Part 2 of the Constitution to broaden the definition of "a meeting" to include a physical meeting, a video conference, an internet video facility or similar, and telephone conferencing. Proposed by M Benaim – passed unanimously.

4.2 Time limits for Trustees in office

Motion to amend the Rules and Regulations to remove points 2 and 3 of section 1 headed "Officers and Committee", which sets out the maximum length of service of officers and general committee members respectively. Proposed by Jim Nelhams. D Plaut suggested as an alternative that general committee members be elected for one year with a maximum of seven years' consecutive service. M Kirk commented that, while officers have the ongoing operational experience to run the choir and therefore it is sensible for them to serve for longer, general committee members should change more frequently to refresh the choir, and therefore suggested a maximum of five years' consecutive service for committee members. Four options were voted on in respect of general committee members (section 1(3)) and are summarised as follows:

- a. Do nothing and retain current rules no votes.
- b. Remove all time limits on length of service no votes.
- c. Maximum of seven years' consecutive service 8 votes.
- d. Maximum of five years' consecutive service 33 votes.

The Rule in respect of officers (section 1(2)) to remain unchanged.

4.3 Attendance Rules

The Rules and Regulations section 5 headed "Choral Members" states at point 4 that members must "seek permission from the Musical Director to sing in the associated concert if they are absent for more than two rehearsals relating to that concert". Jim Nelhams, as Membership Secretary, provided a breakdown of attendance at rehearsals since the beginning of January 2023. It is clear that many members have missed more than two rehearsals and under the Rule should ask the Musical Director's permission to sing in the 1 April concert. He suggested this shows the Rule is unworkable and asked for comments to guide the Committee in redrafting the Rule.

J Williams suggested this year was exceptional. M Maund commented that absences may be due to post-Covid caution. The Musical Director Rory McCleery commented that there has been a lot of illness around since January. In general he is in favour of the Rule, to encourage regular attendance and cut down on repetition for those who do attend every week. Also suggested there is always a drop in attendance over half-term week, as shown in Jim Nelhams' breakdown for week 6 of the current term, and suggested a half-term break but with the proviso that members should then prioritise attendance at other rehearsals. V Bell commented that in the past there have been two rehearsals in the week before the concert which can be helpful. M Golland asked whether rehearsals are compulsory and it was confirmed that only the dress rehearsal is compulsory. There should be a basic expectation that we rehearse for public performance. M Benaim noted that there was no particular motion before the Meeting and proposed that the choir ask the Committee to consider the attendance rules and make a recommendation to the choir. This proposal was put to a vote and agreed unanimously.

5. Elections

Chair

Shelagh Cohen:

Proposed by A D'Souza, seconded by M Kirk – elected unanimously.

Honorary Secretary

Jacqueline Thomson:

Proposed by J Plaut, seconded by M Maund – elected unanimously.

Honorary Treasurer

Mike Benaim:

Proposed by G Cranfield, seconded by D Plaut – elected unanimously.

General Committee Members: There were seven nominations.

MemberProposed bySeconded byHoward JavesM LehmannL WoolfMeg KirkS CohenM Lehmann

Marilyn Lehmann	S Cohen	M Kirk
Jim Nelhams	Jo Nelhams	E Marner
Jo Nelhams	Jim Nelhams	E Marner
James Crawford	D Plaut	J Cohen
Christine Fletcher	M Kirk	M Lehmann

All seven were unanimously elected as committee members for the year 2022 - 2023.

6. <i>i</i>	Adoption	of other	positions
-------------	----------	----------	-----------

Honorary President

Jonathan Rathbone. Re-adopted unanimously.

Honorary Vice Presidents

Pat Coleman, Gillian Gardner-Smith, Neil Kobish, Bob Swinstead and Meg Kirk were unanimously readopted.

Honorary Independent Examiner

Mike Wiffen: unanimously re-adopted.

8. AOB

None

					meet			

Signed	Date